The short answer
- Prefix Systems now describes itself as a trading division of Ultraframe (UK) Ltd. The former Prefix companies entered administration on 8 January 2025.
- Prefix quotes a U-value of 0.18 W/m²K as standard in the UK and 0.15 in Scotland. The limiting figure for a new roof element in England is 0.15.
- No WARMroof price is published. ExpertSure puts a tiled roof on a standard 4m x 4m Victorian at £8,000 to £12,000 (July 2026).
- The design is a ridge-free A-frame with 70mm of phenolic insulation over the bars and Velux windows fitted in the factory. A hybrid version adds double or triple glazed panels.
- If you hold a guarantee from the old Prefix companies, we found no public statement on who now honours it.

WARMroof is an insulated tiled roof that replaces the glass or polycarbonate roof on an existing conservatory. It comes from Prefix Systems, a Lancashire roof maker that was one of the early names in solid conservatory roofs. Since January 2025, when the original Prefix companies went into administration, the brand has traded as a division of Ultraframe (UK) Ltd.
If you are comparing quotes, WARMroof is a trade product you will meet through an installer rather than a brand you buy direct. If you already own a Prefix roof, the change of ownership affects who stands behind the original product guarantee.
Who makes the Prefix WARMroof?
According to a Glass Times profile we could not re-check, Chris Cooke founded Prefix in 1996 in a small unit in Bacup, later moving to Accrington and, in 2015, to a 60,000 sq ft site in Blackburn, with further plants in Northampton (2006) and Swansea (2010).
Companies House shows what happened next. Prefix Systems (UK) Ltd (03995507, incorporated 17 May 2000) entered administration on 8 January 2025, with administrators from Leonard Curtis in Manchester, and was renamed PS2 Realisations 2025 Ltd in February 2025. Prefix Systems Holdings Ltd entered administration the same day, and the Prefix Systems (South) and (SW) companies are also in administration.
Prefix now calls itself “a trading division of Ultraframe (UK) Ltd” and gives Ultraframe’s company number, 01765701. Ultraframe has traded since 1983 and has no insolvency record. The date and terms of the move are not confirmed. Prefix also sells glass roofs, Stratus lanterns, orangeries, verandas and Ultraframe’s LivinRoof.
How the WARMroof is built
Prefix describes WARMroof as a ridge-free A-frame design:
- A 15mm plywood base panel with 100mm of base insulation.
- An extra 70mm phenolic insulation top panel laid over the bars, which Prefix says avoids thermal bridging.
- A breathable waterproof membrane.
- Lightweight tiles or slates.
- Fully insulated eaves.
The roof is delivered on pallets, with Velux roof windows fitted in the factory if you choose them. The WARMroof Hybrid version adds glazed panels in variable positions, with 28mm double glazing as standard or optional 44mm triple glazing. If you are weighing up glazed panels, see our comparison of tiled and hybrid roofs.

Prefix WARMroof specifications
| Specification | Prefix WARMroof |
|---|---|
| U-value (maker’s figure) | 0.18 W/m²K standard UK, 0.15 Scotland. ExpertSure quotes 0.15 |
| Weight | Not published |
| Design | Ridge-free A-frame; 100mm base insulation plus 70mm phenolic over the bars |
| Tile finishes | Modern Tile (square nose), Envirotile, Britmet LiteSlate, Tapco Slate |
| Colours | Envirotile: Anthracite Black, Slate Grey, Dark Brown and one other. LiteSlate: Charcoal, Ash, Slate, Oak, Amethyst, Sunshine, Sunset. Tapco: Stone Black, Pewter Grey, Plum, Brick Red, Chestnut Brown, Red Rock |
| Glazed options | Factory-fitted Velux roof windows; WARMroof Hybrid with 28mm double or 44mm triple glazed panels |
| Certification | Stroma approved (thermal performance); fire tested and rated (Prefix). LABC Registered Detail EWS481 appears in LABC search results (not re-checked) |
| Guarantee | Not stated on the WARMroof page; ExpertSure lists Prefix with a 10-year warranty |
Why the U-value matters
Prefix’s standard figure of 0.18 W/m²K is higher than the 0.15 most rivals quote, with 0.15 offered only for Scotland. Approved Document L sets 0.15 as the limiting U-value for a new roof element in an existing home in England, and LABC treats a solid replacement roof as a new thermal element. Ask your installer what U-value your roof will actually be built to, and how building control will approve it. Our guide to what a warm roof is explains how the insulation layers work.
Prefix WARMroof cost in 2026
We found no WARMroof-specific price, and ExpertSure lists Prefix as quote-only. The nearest benchmarks are ExpertSure’s £8,000 to £12,000 for a tiled roof on a standard 4m x 4m Victorian (July 2026), and our researched range of £7,400 to £12,100 fitted for tiled roofs on a medium conservatory, typically about £9,600. See our tiled roof cost guide.

Who sells and fits WARMroof?
Prefix is a trade-only supplier. Its website points homeowners to approved installers through a “Connect With Installer” option. We found no published count of WARMroof installers.
Reported problems and reviews
We found no Trustpilot profile for Prefix Systems and no pattern of owner complaints in our research. The issues we can document are:
- The administration. Anyone with a Prefix roof supplied before January 2025 should know the original product guarantee was issued by companies now in administration, and we found no public statement on who honours those guarantees. Citizens Advice says that if a company goes bust you can register as a creditor but might not get any money back. Your installer’s workmanship guarantee, and any insurance-backed guarantee, is separate. Our guide to roof guarantees explains the difference.
- The standard U-value of 0.18, covered above.
- Name confusion. “Warm roof” is a general term and several brands use it. ExpertSure’s “WARMroof” listing (timber frame, 25-year guarantee) appears to describe a different product, so check that any review you read is about Prefix.
WARMroof vs UltraRoof, Guardian and Equinox
| Prefix WARMroof | UltraRoof 380 | Guardian | Equinox | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| U-value (maker) | 0.18 (0.15 Scotland) | 0.15 | 0.15 (England) | As low as 0.15 |
| Weight | Not published | 38 kg/m² | About 55 kg/m² (third party) | 67 kg/m² (third party) |
| Glass | Velux or hybrid panels | Glass panels or roof windows | Solstice panel or VELUX | Roof windows or Vega panel |
| Guarantee | Not stated by Prefix | 10-year parts | 10 + 10 years, insurance-backed | 10 years |
Ultraframe now owns both WARMroof and UltraRoof 380, and UltraRoof quotes the lower standard U-value. See our UltraRoof 380 review.

Verdict: who WARMroof suits
WARMroof suits you if an installer you trust fits it, you like the ridge-free design and factory-fitted Velux windows, and your specification meets the U-value building control needs. It suits you less if you want a published price, a stated manufacturer guarantee or a 0.15 U-value as standard in England.
When you get quotes, ask the installer for the U-value of your roof in writing, the length and backing of the guarantee now that Prefix sits within Ultraframe, and who submits the building control application.
Questions people ask
What is a Prefix WARMroof?
WARMroof is an insulated tiled replacement conservatory roof from Prefix Systems. It uses a ridge-free A-frame design, a plywood base panel with 100mm of insulation, a further 70mm of phenolic insulation over the bars, a breathable membrane and lightweight tiles or slates. Velux roof windows can be fitted before delivery.
How much does a Prefix WARMroof cost?
Prefix does not publish prices and ExpertSure lists it as quote-only. As a guide, ExpertSure puts a tiled roof on a standard 4m x 4m Victorian at £8,000 to £12,000 (July 2026). Get several quotes, including from installers of other systems.
Is Prefix Systems still trading?
The Prefix brand is. Prefix Systems (UK) Ltd and its holding company entered administration on 8 January 2025, and the business now describes itself as 'a trading division of Ultraframe (UK) Ltd', using Ultraframe's company number. The date and terms of the move are not public.
What U-value does the Prefix WARMroof achieve?
Prefix quotes 0.18 W/m²K as standard in the UK and 0.15 in Scotland. ExpertSure quotes 0.15. Approved Document L sets 0.15 for a new roof element in an existing home in England, so ask your installer what your roof will be built to and how building control will sign it off.
Who honours an old Prefix roof guarantee?
We found no public statement. The product guarantee on a roof supplied before January 2025 was issued by companies now in administration. Contact the installer who fitted your roof first, since workmanship cover runs through them, and check whether they gave you an insurance-backed guarantee.
Is WARMroof the same as a warm roof?
No. A warm roof is a general term for a roof insulated above and between the rafters, and many brands use it. WARMroof is Prefix's product name. ExpertSure's listing for a 'WARMroof' with a timber frame and 25-year guarantee appears to describe a different product.
Sources
- Prefix Systems
- Prefix Systems: About us
- Prefix Systems: WARMroof
- Companies House: Prefix Systems (UK) Ltd (03995507)
- Companies House: Prefix Systems (UK) Ltd insolvency
- Companies House: Prefix Systems Holdings Ltd insolvency
- Companies House: search for Prefix Systems
- Glass Times: Why Prefix is a pioneer
- LABC Assured: EWS481 Prefix WARMroof system
- ExpertSure: Best conservatory roof companies
- ExpertSure: Tiled conservatory roof cost
- Approved Document L, Volume 1 (2021 edition incorporating 2023 amendments)
- Citizens Advice: If a company stops trading
Written by the Conservatory Roof Guide team
We research every figure from named sources: manufacturers' data, Met Office, HM Land Registry, LABC and published UK price guides. How we compare.
Reviewed by Zaib Khan
Founder of Conservatory Roof Guide. His team has handled 9,000+ conservatory roof quote requests from UK homeowners.

