Independent UK guidePrices updated September 2026

Compare quotes for a new conservatory roof

Get prices from up to four local installers, free

Which new roof are you interested in?

Takes about 60 seconds. Free and no obligation.

Why replace your roof

  • Warmer in winter
  • Cooler in summer
  • Quiet when it rains
  • A room you use all year

Our prices and data come from Met OfficeHM Land RegistryLABCPlanning PortalWhich?

Ultraframe LivinRoof review

Reviewed byZaib Khan
Updated on27 September 2026
Reading time6 minutes

LivinRoof is Ultraframe's solid replacement conservatory roof: insulated grey panels outside, a plastered ceiling inside, and glass panels wherever you want them. ExpertSure puts fitted prices at £9,500 to £15,500 including VAT.

The short answer

  • LivinRoof is built on Ultraframe's glass roof chassis with grey aluminium-faced insulated panels outside. It is not a tiled roof, whatever some review sites say.
  • Ultraframe quotes a U-value of 0.15 W/m²K as standard with a 0.12 option, and 31 kg/m² including plasterboard, the lightest solid roof in our research.
  • ExpertSure puts fitted prices at £9,500 to £15,500 including VAT (May 2026), with Victorian roofs of 15 to 20 m² at £11,500 to £14,000.
  • Ultraframe gives a 10-year parts guarantee. ExpertSure says it is not insurance-backed, so the installer's own cover matters.
  • Ultraframe scores 4.4 out of 5 from 115 Trustpilot reviews (27 September 2026); low-star reviews mention leaks at box gutters and flashing.
Bright open plan living and dining room with a vaulted plastered ceiling, spotlights and patio doors to the garden
Photo: Modunite Ltd

LivinRoof is a solid replacement roof for an existing conservatory, made by Ultraframe, the Lancashire company behind many of the UK’s glass conservatory roofs. It differs from most tiled systems in one obvious way: it is not tiled. The outside is clad in grey insulated panels with a rolled lead look, and any of those panels can be swapped for glass. Inside you get an insulated, plastered and vaulted ceiling with an insulated pelmet around the edge for lights.

That makes it a hybrid roof: mostly solid and insulated, with daylight where you choose. Some review sites describe LivinRoof as tiled with a 25-year tile warranty. Ultraframe’s own pages describe panels, not tiles, so check that any quote names the product you think you are buying.

Who makes LivinRoof?

Ultraframe (UK) Limited, company number 01765701, was incorporated on 31 October 1983 and is based at Clitheroe in Lancashire. Its founder, John Lancaster MBE, floated it on the London Stock Exchange in 1998, and Latium Holdings took it private in 2006 for £29.2 million. On Companies House today, ownership runs through Latium Roofing Systems, Latium Plastics Enterprises and LPE Holdco to Brian Kennedy, who holds more than 75% of LPE Holdco. Wikipedia puts the workforce at around 400. The main trading company has no insolvency record.

Wikipedia dates LivinRoof’s launch to 2013 (ExpertSure says 2014). Ultraframe also owns the Prefix Systems name, which now trades as a division of Ultraframe, and LivinRoof is sold under the Prefix brand too.

How LivinRoof is built

LivinRoof starts with Ultraframe’s glass roof chassis, which is BBA-certified, and adds thermally broken rafters. Ultraframe describes the rest of the build like this:

  • Outside: 25mm insulating panels, either aluminium-faced sandwich panels or U-Tec composite, in RAL7016 grey.
  • Inside: two layers of insulation board (90mm plus 25mm Kingspan) on an engineered steel ladder system, then plasterboard and a plaster skim.
  • Perimeter: an insulated internal pelmet, 300mm deep as standard and variable up to 1200mm, which can hold downlights or speakers.
  • Pitch: 5 to 40.9 degrees, with box gutter spans up to 6m.

The low 5 degree minimum pitch makes it one of the few solid options for a shallow lean-to. Ultraframe says the roof is wind tested to 130mph, and it was fire tested as an assembled structure by Warringtonfire in 2017.

The LivinRoof LABC certificate adds conditions worth knowing. Bi-folding doors under the roof must be bottom supported, not top hung. In Scotland a building warrant is needed in every case. And because research suggests plaster and paper surfaces carry a potential risk of mould (even though surface condensation should not occur), the homeowner must be told the ceiling needs cleaning regularly over the life of the roof and the room ventilated to keep humidity below 80%. The copy of the certificate hosted by Ultraframe shows a validity date “until 6th July 2022”, so ask your installer for the current version.

Light filled dining room in a single storey extension with a vaulted plastered ceiling, rooflights and bifold doors
Light filled dining room in a single storey extension with a vaulted plastered ceiling, rooflights and bifold doors. Photo: Amy Branch

LivinRoof specifications

SpecificationLivinRoof
U-value (maker’s figure)0.15 W/m²K standard, 0.12 option. LABC certificate build-up and one installer: 0.18
Weight31 kg/m² including plasterboard (Ultraframe)
Roof pitch5 to 40.9 degrees
Outside finishRAL7016 Urban Grey insulated panels with a rolled lead look, not tiles
Gutter and corniceBlack Marley Classic gutter, or a powder-coated cornice in grey, frame-matching or bespoke colours
Glazed optionsGlass can replace any grey panel in almost any shape, including triangles, “without additional cost” (Ultraframe); performance glass options
CeilingVaulted plastered ceiling with insulated pelmet; downlights or pendants
CertificationLABC Registered Detail EWS529; pre-approved by MFA and Stroma; JHAI partnership for completion certificates in England and Wales; Warringtonfire B-roof fire rating
Guarantee10-year parts guarantee; installer warranties vary

LivinRoof cost in 2026

Ultraframe does not publish prices. ExpertSure’s LivinRoof review (May 2026) gives these fitted figures including VAT:

RoofFitted price
Overall range£9,500 to £15,500
Victorian, 15 to 20 m²£11,500 to £14,000
Edwardian, 14 to 18 m²£10,500 to £12,500

Our researched range for hybrid roofs in general on a medium conservatory is £6,600 to £12,600 fitted, and branded LivinRoof runs higher than that. Ultraframe says glass panels cost nothing extra, but ExpertSure notes that each glazed panel reduces the U-value advantage. See hybrid roof costs for how prices change with size and style.

Who sells and fits LivinRoof?

Ultraframe sells only through installers: its “Trusted Ultra Installers” and trade fabricators, plus firms buying through Prefix. ExpertSure estimates about 35 approved LivinRoof companies, a smaller network than Guardian’s. Your guarantee, aftercare and building control paperwork run through the local firm. Because the Ultraframe guarantee covers parts, ask the installer what workmanship guarantee they give and whether it is insurance-backed.

Orangery interior with a glazed dome lantern, stone walls, palms and white cafe tables
Orangery interior with a glazed dome lantern, stone walls, palms and white cafe tables. Photo: Pascal Bullan

LivinRoof problems and reviews

On 27 September 2026, Ultraframe had 4.4 out of 5 from 115 Trustpilot reviews covering all its products: 76% five-star and 21% one-star. The negative reviews mostly concern water getting in at box gutters and flashing years after installation, and some describe intermittent leaks on LivinRoof installations that were fixed only after several service visits. Ultraframe replies to negative reviews.

Other drawbacks come from the design and the paperwork rather than reviews:

  • The guarantee is not insurance-backed, according to ExpertSure.
  • Glazed panels reduce thermal performance, so a roof with lots of glass will lose more heat.
  • The modern grey look will not match a tiled house roof.
  • The mould and ventilation conditions on the LABC certificate put some upkeep on you. Our guide to conservatory condensation explains how to keep humidity down.

LivinRoof vs Guardian, UltraRoof, SupaLite and Equinox

LivinRoofGuardianUltraRoof 380SupaLiteEquinox
Outside finishGrey panelsTiles or slateTiles or slateTiles or slateTiles or slate
U-value (maker)0.15 (0.12 option)0.15 (England)0.150.15As low as 0.15
Weight31 kg/m²About 55 kg/m² (third party)38 kg/m²Under 46 kg/m²67 kg/m² (third party)
Minimum pitch5 degreesNot statedNot stated10 degrees (Shingle tiles)5 degrees (SlateSkin)
Guarantee10-year parts10 + 10 years, insurance-backed10-year parts10 years10 years

LivinRoof wins on weight, low pitch and glass flexibility. The tiled systems win if you want the roof to look like part of the house. Compare LivinRoof vs UltraRoof, Ultraframe’s own tiled roof, and Guardian vs LivinRoof, and see our UltraRoof 380 review.

Verdict: who LivinRoof suits

LivinRoof suits you if you want a warm, solid roof but do not want to lose the sky, if your conservatory is a low lean-to, or if you like a contemporary look. It is a good fit for owners who want glass in specific places, such as over a dining table, rather than a roof window or two. It suits you less if you want tiles that match the house or a manufacturer guarantee that is insurance-backed. Our guide to hybrid conservatory roofs covers the wider choice.

When you get quotes, ask each Ultraframe installer for the specified U-value, the current LABC certificate, how many panels will be glazed and what that does to the U-value, and what workmanship guarantee sits alongside Ultraframe’s parts guarantee.

Questions people ask

What is a LivinRoof?

LivinRoof is a solid replacement conservatory roof from Ultraframe. It uses Ultraframe's glass roof chassis, clad outside in 25mm grey insulated panels and insulated inside with two layers of board under a plastered, vaulted ceiling. Any of the grey panels can be swapped for glass.

How much does a LivinRoof cost?

Ultraframe does not publish prices. ExpertSure reported fitted prices of £9,500 to £15,500 including VAT in May 2026: £11,500 to £14,000 for a 15 to 20 m² Victorian roof and £10,500 to £12,500 for a 14 to 18 m² Edwardian. That is above the general range for hybrid roofs.

Is LivinRoof any good?

On published figures it is the lightest solid roof we found, goes down to a 5 degree pitch and meets the 0.15 U-value England requires for a new roof. Ultraframe has traded since 1983 and scores 4.4 on Trustpilot. The trade-offs are a parts-only guarantee and a modern grey look that will not match a tiled house roof.

What U-value does LivinRoof achieve?

Ultraframe quotes 0.15 W/m²K as standard and offers a 0.12 option. The copy of its LABC certificate hosted by Ultraframe shows a 0.18 build-up, and one installer quotes 0.18, so ask which specification your quote is for. Adding more glass panels lowers the overall performance.

What problems are reported with LivinRoof?

Some Trustpilot reviewers describe intermittent leaks on LivinRoof installations that took several service visits to fix, and water getting in at box gutters and flashing years after installation. The LABC certificate also asks that the ceiling be cleaned regularly and humidity kept below 80% because of a potential mould risk.

Is LivinRoof a tiled roof?

No. Ultraframe describes aluminium-faced or composite insulated panels in RAL7016 grey with a rolled lead look. Some review sites describe it as tiled with a 25-year tile warranty, which conflicts with Ultraframe's own pages. Ultraframe's tiled roof is the UltraRoof 380.

Written by the Conservatory Roof Guide team

We research every figure from named sources: manufacturers' data, Met Office, HM Land Registry, LABC and published UK price guides. How we compare.

Reviewed by Zaib Khan

Founder of Conservatory Roof Guide. His team has handled 9,000+ conservatory roof quote requests from UK homeowners.

Get free quotes

Compare prices from up to four local installers.

Takes about 60 seconds

Compare quotes before you commit

Get up to four quotes from local installers who fit this kind of roof. Free, and you see a price range first.