The short answer
- Panel brands in our research: Panel X, Thermotec, Superior Conservatory Panels and Weatherwise. All keep your existing roof frame, bars and ridge.
- Claimed U-values range from 0.29 W/m²K (75mm panels, measured at the centre) to 0.98 (Panel X 25mm), against 0.15 for a new solid roof in England.
- None of these brands publishes a price. Our researched range for panels or lining on a medium conservatory is £1,800 to £4,600 fitted.
- Sellers say fitting takes from about four hours to a day.
- LABC says cutting a roof's translucence ends the conservatory exemption, so expect to need building regulations approval, whatever a seller says.

Insulated roof panels are the budget way to make a glass or polycarbonate conservatory warmer, quieter and shadier. Instead of removing the whole roof, the installer takes out the see-through sheets or glass units and slots opaque insulated panels into the existing glazing bars. You keep the frame, ridge, bars and gutters.
Unlike tiled roofs, this part of the market has no dominant system maker. The brands we found are mostly small firms that make and fit their own panels, publish little technical detail and no prices. This page compares what they do publish.
Panels, cladovers, linings and tiled roofs: what is the difference?
The names get mixed up in adverts, so it is worth being clear:
- Insulated panel conversion: panels replace the glass or polycarbonate within the existing bars. This is what Panel X, Thermotec and Superior sell.
- Cladover (overclad): insulation, and sometimes panels or tiles, fixed over the top of the existing roof bars.
- Underdraw or internal lining: an insulated ceiling fixed underneath the existing roof, leaving the polycarbonate in place.
- Tiled or solid replacement roof: the old roof comes off and a new insulated structure goes on. See tiled conservatory roofs.
The panel brands compared
| Panel X | Thermotec | Superior Conservatory Panels | Weatherwise | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| What it is | Factory-cut panels with a closed-cell, water-resistant core, replacing glass or polycarbonate in the existing bars | Panels that “fit into existing roof bars” | Insulated aluminium panels in the existing bars | “Insulated Conservatory Roof Panels” fitted professionally; construction not described |
| Thickness | 25mm or 35mm | Not stated | 75mm quoted | Not stated |
| Claimed U-value (W/m²K) | 0.98 (25mm), 0.75 (35mm) | “Right down to 0.29” | 0.29 (75mm) | Not published |
| Finishes | Tile effect, woodgrain and colours (PX1 to PX6) | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Fitting time | A few hours (maker) | “A typical installation takes just one day” | Testimonials of fitting within 4 hours | Many installs in one day |
| Guarantee | 10 years | 10 years | Not stated | Not stated |
| Who fits | Panel X’s own team, nationwide; not sold as DIY | Not stated | Not stated | One firm covering Bedfordshire, Northamptonshire, Cambridgeshire and Yorkshire |
| Published price | No (quote or brochure) | No | No | No |
The Thermotec figures come from a review site quoting the maker; we could not identify the company behind the Thermotec name. Superior’s figures are from its own website. Weatherwise displays CPA (Consumer Protection Association) membership and a CERTASS logo and claims more than 20 years’ experience. Panel X describes its product as a “laboratory tested system” but names no certificate, and says both its panels give “100% sun glare reduction”.

What the U-values really mean
Panel makers quote U-values for the panel itself. Thermotec and Superior’s 0.29 is measured at the centre of a 75mm panel. That is a big improvement on polycarbonate, which Ultraframe rates at 1.7 for 25mm and 1.3 for 35mm, but it is not the whole roof.
Bryant & Cairns, a solid roof installer and so a competitor, argues that heat is still “lost at the same rate through the bars and ridge of the existing roof”, that aluminium panel skins without thermal breaks can create cold bridges where condensation forms, and that panel guarantees often cover “only the panels themselves”. Its view is commercial, but these are fair questions to put to any panel seller.
For comparison, Approved Document L sets 0.15 W/m²K for a new roof element in an existing home in England. Panel X’s own figures (0.98 and 0.75) are several times that, so a panel roof will not perform like a fully insulated warm roof. If condensation is already a problem, read our guide to conservatory condensation before choosing panels.
Insulated roof panel costs in 2026
None of the four brands publishes a price. Panel X makes to measure and quotes after a survey or brochure request. Our researched range for insulated panels or an internal lining on a medium conservatory is £1,800 to £4,600 fitted in 2026, against £7,400 to £12,100 for a tiled roof. See our guide to insulated roof panel costs.
Internal lining firms are more open about price. Conservatory Roof Insulation Ltd advertises from £1,590 and Conservatory Insulations UK from £1,699 for an insulated ceiling, sizes not stated. For how linings compare with a new roof, see internal insulation kits vs a new roof.
Do insulated panels need building regulations approval?
This is where panel sales pitches most often go wrong. The Thermotec review repeats the claim “You do not need planning permission or Building Regulation compliance”. LABC takes a different view. Its guidance says work that “significantly reduces the proportion of glazing, or level of translucence to the roof” means the conservatory “can no longer be considered exempt”, and it names products that “simply underdraw or overclad existing polycarbonate roofs”. On that reasoning an opaque panel roof is likely to need approval in England and Wales, and building control will check whether the existing structure can take the load.
There is no published ruling specific to panels, so ask your council’s building control before you sign, and treat a flat “no building regs needed” as a warning sign. Our building regulations guide explains the process.
Energy ratings are affected too. Since 6 August 2026, an EPC assessor records a conservatory whose roof has been replaced or given a false ceiling as an extension, with insulation recorded as none unless there is evidence. Keep the panel specification and any certificate.

Reported problems and reviews
We have no Trustpilot scores for Panel X, Thermotec or Superior, and a Trustpilot search for conservatory roof panels found no reviews for Weatherwise on 27 September 2026. With little public feedback, the documented concerns are about the approach rather than any one brand:
- Heat loss through the old bars and ridge, and possible cold bridging (Bryant & Cairns).
- Guarantees that may cover only the panels, not the frame they sit in.
- The building regulations position, above.
- For cladovers specifically, a comparison site with a commercial interest in full replacements says they have low structural performance, are hard for building control to approve and risk sagging, condensation, damp and plaster cracking.
Panels vs a tiled roof
Panels cost far less than a tiled roof (£1,800 to £4,600 against £7,400 to £12,100 on our figures) and go in far faster, but they keep the old frame and insulate less. A tiled roof gives you a plastered ceiling, a 0.15 U-value across the whole roof and a completion certificate. See tiled roof vs insulated panels and, if you are starting from a tired polycarbonate roof, polycarbonate vs insulated panels.
Verdict: who insulated panels suit
Panels suit you if your frame, bars and gutters are sound, your budget is under about £5,000, and you mainly want to stop glare, heat and rain noise. They suit you less if the existing roof leaks at the ridge or bars, if you want the room to feel like part of the house, or if you plan to sell soon and want clean paperwork. Our guide to conservatory roof insulation covers every option.
When you get quotes, ask each panel installer for the whole-roof U-value rather than the panel figure, exactly what the guarantee covers, how the panels are thermally broken, and, in writing, how building regulations will be handled.
Questions people ask
How much do conservatory roof panels cost?
None of the panel brands in our research publishes a price: Panel X quotes to measure, and Thermotec, Superior and Weatherwise give no figures online. Our researched range for insulated panels or an internal lining on a medium conservatory is £1,800 to £4,600 fitted in 2026.
Can you replace conservatory roof panels with insulated ones?
Yes. Panel systems such as Panel X, Thermotec and Superior Conservatory Panels remove the existing glass units or polycarbonate sheets and fit insulated panels into the same glazing bars. The frame, ridge and gutters stay, so they need to be in good condition first.
How are insulated conservatory roof panels fitted?
The installer removes the old glass or polycarbonate, fits factory-cut insulated panels between the existing bars and refits the caps. Panel X says fitting takes a few hours, Thermotec's review says a typical installation takes one day, and Superior quotes customers whose roofs were done within four hours.
Do insulated roof panels need building regulations approval?
Probably, in England and Wales. A review of Thermotec says no building regulations are needed, but LABC's guidance says work that significantly reduces a conservatory roof's translucence ends its exemption and names products that overclad or underdraw polycarbonate roofs. Ask building control before you sign.
What U-value do insulated roof panels achieve?
Thermotec and Superior quote 0.29 W/m²K for 75mm panels, measured at the centre of the panel. Panel X quotes 0.98 for its 25mm panel and 0.75 for 35mm. A new solid roof in England must meet 0.15, and heat is still lost through the existing bars and ridge.
Are Panel X roof panels any good?
Panel X offers tile-effect, woodgrain and colour finishes, a 10-year guarantee and fitting by its own nationwide team. Its claimed U-values (0.98 for 25mm, 0.75 for 35mm) are higher than other panel brands and several times the 0.15 target for a new roof, so expect a quieter, shadier room rather than a fully insulated one.
Sources
- Panel X: Insulated conservatory roof panels
- Door and Window Experts: Thermotec roof panels review
- Superior Conservatory Panels: Polycarbonate vs aluminium roof
- Weatherwise Conservatory Roof Panels
- Bryant & Cairns: The pitfalls of budget replacement roof options
- CompareConservatoryRoofs: Cladovers
- LABC guidance on solid roofs to conservatories (2018 addendum)
- LABC Front Door: Replacing a conservatory roof
- Approved Document L, Volume 1 (2021 edition incorporating 2023 amendments)
- BRE: RdSAP Conventions v12.2
- Trustpilot: search for conservatory roof panels
- Conservatory Roof Insulation Ltd
- Conservatory Insulations UK
Written by the Conservatory Roof Guide team
We research every figure from named sources: manufacturers' data, Met Office, HM Land Registry, LABC and published UK price guides. How we compare.
Reviewed by Zaib Khan
Founder of Conservatory Roof Guide. His team has handled 9,000+ conservatory roof quote requests from UK homeowners.

